Cleansing Conditioner

7124Vvs8uvL._SL1500_

Being a child of the South, I have always done two showers a day. The heat and humidity in the summer made a shower at night necessary to be able to go to sleep. And I always woke up sticky with sweat and greasy hair, especially as I hit puberty. Even after moving to the Pacific Northwest when in my early teens, I never changed my grooming habits. I never really got how washing your hair twice a day would wreck havoc on it til I started coloring my  hair. By then not washing your hair for a week had become the thing to do. I tried and tried and tried. My hair has always been on the greasy side and very fine. I hated going to bed with it feeling like that. I could never go longer than a day and a half. And that was absolutely miserable. It was until a few weeks ago when I was talking to a co-worker about how I couldn’t keep my hair color for longer than a couple of weeks because of this that she told me about a “co wash”. I never heard of a cleansing conditioner. Doing some research this seems like it’s best for people for curly or extremely dry hair and I have oily, fine hair. But since my hair was getting really dry by all the shampooing I decided to try a couple that was recommended by reviews for fine hair.

First one I tried was the L’Oreal Paris EverCreme Cleansing Conditioner.  Immediately I could tell a difference in my hair. It was softer and had some texture to it. One issue I had was that I had to wash my hair every other time with shampoo. This conditioner caused my hair to get oily kinda quick. Still a huge improvement over washing it twice a day w/ shampoo.

Second cleansing conditioner I tried was the Pantene Pro-V Color Preserve.  This is the one I’m sticking with. I can go two days without washing my hair with shampoo before it gets too oily. Also I have noticed my color is lasting a lot longer, it’s been two weeks and the only gray showing thru is the new growth.

One thing I have noticed with both of these is that you really have to follow the instructions. Work the condition into a low lather before applying it to your hair. Then massage it into your scalp and leave it for a couple of minutes before rinsing. If you don’t, then it just adds the conditioning without the cleansing and it leaves your hair extra oily.

If you’re hair is extra oily or curly, the L’Oreal is probably going to be the best one for you. It’s also about half the size of the Pantene and cost about $7 where the Pantene cost $5.

Cleansing Conditioner

Leave a Reply

